The Euroregion “EUROACE” is the group comprised of three regions: Alentejo (Portugal), Centre (Portugal) and the Extremaduran autonomous community (Spain). It was founded on 21 September 2009 in Vila Velha de Ródão, with the signing of an agreement which, in effect, established the EUROACE , working community. This event certifies the three regions’ desire to reinforce and boost their cooperation.

This new agreement is the legal base for the creation of a greater Euroregion among these three regions. The idea is to begin a new period of collaboration in which they can work together on projects that are closer and more useful to citizens, businesses and society in general.

EUROACE is the first Euroregion with a tripartite nature on the Spanish-Portuguese border. The organization is not legally constituted and, therefore, possesses an open and dynamic structure, leaving the door open to all entities and organisations within the three regions, both public and private, that wish to participate.